Cancel your coverage
If you stop operating your business or cease to employ workers, you have a responsibility to notify WorkSafeBC to modify or cancel your coverage. You can cancel your coverage anytime by contacting us online, by phone, or by mail.
If you have our optional coverage (Personal Optional Protection and/or voluntary coverage) as well as coverage for your workers, cancelling your worker coverage may not automatically cancel the optional coverage. Please ensure you contact us if you wish to cancel your optional coverage.
When the account is cancelled, payroll is required up to the cancel date. If you are not able to provide the payroll, we will estimate the payroll and bill you. You still have the responsibility to report the actual payroll and pay the correct amount of premiums, even though your account has been cancelled.
How to cancel your account
- Log in to or create an account for an online services account. You should see the My Employer Services page.
- Under "Insurance," select "Manage my account"
- Select "Cancel your account" and provide the requested information
You can also call our Employer Service Centre or contact us by mail.