WorkSafeBC Home

Workers Compensation Act

The Workers Compensation Act (Act) was revised in 2019 as part of the government’s standard legislative revision process. The language was modernized and parts, divisions, and sections were renumbered, but the revisions are not the same as a substantive amendment and do not change the legal effect of the Act with respect to occupational health and safety, workers’ compensation, or employers’ assessment premiums. The revisions came into effect April 6, 2020.

The Act is organized into eight Parts.

Part 1, Scope of Act
4 Divisions This Part includes definitions applicable to the whole Act; Divisions explaining the scope of each of the OHS provisions and the compensation provisions, which are defined terms of the Act; and a Division on the liability of employers in industries not within the scope of the compensation provisions.
Part 2, Occupational Health and Safety
16 Divisions This Part is an OHS provision, which addresses matters such as the rights and responsibilities of workplace parties, joint committees and worker representatives, protection against OHS-related prohibited actions, accident reporting, investigations, enforcement, offences, and WorkSafeBC administrative procedures and regulation-making authority.
Part 3, Workers' Compensation System
3 Divisions This Part is a compensation provision, which sets out the general rules for the compensation system, WorkSafeBC’s legal jurisdiction and authorities, and the legal effect of the workers’ compensation system.
Part 4, Compensation to Injured Workers and Their Dependants
11 Divisions This Part is a compensation provision, which addresses matters such as compensation for injury, occupational disease, mental disorder, or death of a worker; and the provision of health care benefits and vocational rehabilitation assistance.
Part 5, Accident Fund and Employer Assessment
3 Divisions This Part is a compensation provision, which addresses the collection of employer assessments (insurance premiums).
Part 6, Review of Board Decisions
  This Part is a compensation provision, which deals with reviews of Board decisions, the review process at the Review Division of WorkSafeBC, and the powers of the Chief Review Officer.
Part 7, Appeals to Appeal Tribunal
4 Divisions This Part deals with appeals and the role of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Tribunal.
Part 8, Workers’ Compensation Board and General Matters
7 Divisions This Part addresses matters such as general powers of WorkSafeBC and governance of WorkSafeBC.

BC Laws site provides an unofficial electronic version of the Workers Compensation Act. The Province holds copyright and the official, printed version of the Act can be obtained from Crown Publications.