WorkSafeBC Home

B.C. government announces new chair of WorkSafeBC’s Board of Directors

Published on: June 29, 2023

On June 29, 2023, Minister of Labour Harry Bains announced the appointment of Baltej Dhillon as chair of WorkSafeBC’s Board of Directors.

Dhillon, a veteran RCMP officer and recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden and Diamond Jubilee medals for community service, has been a member of the Board since 2017, when he was appointed as the representative professional in the area of law or law enforcement.

"On behalf our Enterprise Leadership Team, I'd like to congratulate Baltej on his appointment," says Anne Naser, president and CEO of WorkSafeBC. "We look forward to working with him in this new role, alongside our Board members and our stakeholders, to help achieve our vision of a province free from workplace injury or illness."

Dhillon takes over the role from Jeff Parr, who served as Board chair from August of 2020 to June 2023. "Jeff helped see our organization through a time of tremendous internal and external change," says Anne. "I want to thank Jeff sincerely for his substantial contributions to WorkSafeBC over the last three years."

The B.C. government's news release provides further details regarding the appointment.