WorkSafeBC Home

Workers Compensation Act – Part 1

Part 1 as it relates to compensation to workers and dependants

Section 1 of the Workers Compensation Act ("Act") provides definitions that apply to the whole Act. It precedes Part 1 of the Act.

Divisions 1, 2, 3, and 5 of Part 1 of the Act addresses matters such as compensation for injury, occupational disease, or mental disorder, survivor benefits; and the provision of health care and vocational rehabilitation assistance. Division 6 addresses matters such as general powers of WorkSafeBC, composition of the Board of Directors and the process at Review Division.

The following table provides links to the Compensation-Related Divisions of Part 1 of the Act and related Schedules.

Part 1 Compensation to Workers and Dependants

Division Title Act Sections Division
Scope of this Part 2 to 4 1
Compensation 5 to 16
Scale of Compensation 17 to 35.2 3
Procedure and Miscellaneous 53 to 78 5
Workers’ Compensation Board 79 to 101 6
Schedules Related to Part 1
Schedule B    
Schedule D    

In addition to Part 1, some sections in Part 4 of the Act also apply to these matters. The BC Laws site provides an unofficial electronic version of the Workers Compensation Act. The Province holds copyright and the official, printed version of the Act can be obtained from Crown Publications.