This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.


about us banner

Executive & governance

WorkSafeBC is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors (BOD) appointed by the Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Skills Training and Responsible for Labour. The composition of the BOD, set out in legislation, ensures that public interest is given priority and that there is a balance of representation from B.C.'s worker, employer, and health care/rehabilitation communities.

The Board of Directors is entrusted with stewardship of WorkSafeBC. It is responsible for overseeing the conduct of WorkSafeBC's business and supervising management, which is responsible for WorkSafeBC's day-to-day operation. The BOD has overall responsibility for ensuring that the organization fulfills the purposes for which it was created and for setting its strategic direction.

The composition, powers, and duties of the Board of Directors are set out in Sections 81 and 82 of the Workers Compensation Act.

The President/Chief Executive Officer (CEO) has the authority to exercise the powers and responsibilities described in Part 3 of the Workers Compensation Act that are not expressly assigned to the Board of Directors. The President/CEO also has authority over claims cost levies set out in section 73(1) of the Act. The President/CEO has the authority to delegate these powers and responsibilities to divisions, departments, categories of officers, or individual officers of WorkSafeBC.

Members of the Board of Directors

George Morfitt, Chair, Public Interest
(May 2010 - December 2015)

Henry Harder, Health Care and Rehabilitation Representative
(April 2008 - April 2014)

Phillip Legg, Worker Representative
(January 2009 - January 2015)

Joe Lindgren, Employer Representative
(January 2009 - January 2015)

Tazeem Nathoo, Public Interest Representative
(November 2010 - December 2015)

Rick Roger, Vice Chair - Public Interest Representative
(January 2009 - January 2015)

Alan Cooke, Actuary
(December 2012 - December 2014)

David Anderson, Ex officio
(Appointed President and CEO December 2003)

Senior Executives - Administration

  • David Anderson, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Brian Erickson, Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer
  • Roberta Ellis, Senior Vice-President, Human Resources and Corporate Services
  • Diana Miles, Senior Vice-President, Operations, Worker & Employer Services
  • Trevor Alexander, Vice-President, Claims Services
  • Al Johnson, Vice-President, Prevention Services
  • Ian Munroe, Vice-President, Employer, Industry, and Worker Services
  • Kevin La Freniere, Vice-President, Business Analysis, Corporate Communications & Marketing
  • Ed Bates, General Counsel and Secretary to WorkSafeBC

Contact us

For more information about the WorkSafeBC's Board of Directors, please email